The LUMI-Q consortium will provide a European-wide quantum computing environment integrated with the EuroHPC infrastructure. The proposed concept allows the integration of the targeted EuroHPC quantum computer into EuroHPC supercomputer KAROLINA in Czechia, LUMI in Finland, and EHPCPL in Poland.


The quantum computer of the LUMI-Q consortium will be available to a wide range of European users, from the scientific community to industry and the public sector. The upcoming quantum computing infrastructure will support the development of various applications with industrial, scientific and societal relevance for Europe, adding new capabilities to the European supercomputing infrastructure.

The LUMI-Q consortium is a true pan-European collaboration effort with 8 European countries involved: Czechia, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Poland, Norway, Belgium and the Netherlands.

physical cubits
million EUR
LUMI-Q consortium countries


  • at least 20 physical qubits
  • the star-shape topology
  • the total cost of the system EUR 7.0 million
  • integrated into the EuroHPC supercomputer KAROLINA

LUMI-Q consortium members

  • Coordinator: VSB – Technical University of Ostrava, IT4Innovations National Supercomputing Center, Czechia
  • CSC – IT Center for Science, Finland 
  • VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd, Finland
  • Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
  • Danish e-Infrastructure Consortium (DeiC), Denmark
  • Akademickie Centrum Komputerowe Cyfronet AGH, Poland
  • Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center, Poland
  • Sigma2 AS, Norway
  • Simula Research Lab, Norway
  • SINTEF AS, Norway
  • University of Hasselt, Belgium
  • TNO Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research, the Netherlands
  • SURF BV, the Netherlands


The acquisition and operation of the EuroHPC quantum computer are funded jointly by the EuroHPC Joint Undertaking through the European Union‘s Digital Europe Programme, as well as by the Czech Republic, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Poland, Norway, Belgium and the Netherlands.